What Is The Capital Of The State

    list of state capitals in the United States state capital population of capital: census Virginia Richmond (2010) 204,214 Washington Olympia (2010) 46,478 West Virginia Charleston (2010) 51,400 Wisconsin Madison (2010) 233,209.

    What is the 29 states and capital?

    29 States of India and Their Capitals and Languages Name of the State Capital City Official Languages Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (Present till – 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed) Telugu Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar English Assam Dispur Assamese Bihar Patna Hindi.

    What is the capital all state of India?

    India now has 28 states and 8 UTs S.NO State Capital 9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla 10 Jharkhand Ranchi 11 Karnataka Bengaluru 12 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram.

    Which is the 29th state in India List?

    Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in June 2014 and received granted individual state status.

    Is it 28 or 29 states in India?

    India is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, for a total of 36 entities. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions.

    What is the capital of Puducherry?

    Pondicherry Puducherry Capital and Largest city Pondicherry Districts 4 Government • Lieutenant Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan (additional charge).

    Is Delhi a state?

    Delhi, officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and a union territory of India containing New Delhi, the capital of India. It is situated alongside River Yamuna and bordered by Haryana state on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh state to the east.

    What is the capital of Delhi?

    New Delhi Delhi Formation of National Capital Territory 1 February 1992 Capital New Delhi Districts 11 Government.

    What are the 7 territories?

    India has, in total, seven Union Territories–Delhi (National Capital Territory of Delhi), Puducherry, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

    How many states India have?

    There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

    What is the capital of Kerala?


    Is J&K a state?

    The state of Jammu and Kashmir was accorded special status by Article 370 of the Constitution of India. At the same time, a reorganisation act was also passed, which would reconstitute the state into two union territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. The reorganisation took effect from 31 October 2019.

    Which state is removed from 29 states?

    On 2 June 2014, Telangana was separated from Andhra Pradesh as the 29th state of the union.

    How many states are there in our country?

    The federal union of India is broken into 29 states and seven territories. All of the states and unions of the nation have three capitals. The first is the administrative capital, which is home to the executive government offices.

    What is the capital of Mizoram?


    What is the capital Punjab?


    Which is the capital city of Dadra & Nagar Haveli?

    The enclave of Dadra and Nagar Haveli [1] is a tiny union territory in Western India wedged between the states of Maharashtra and Gujarat. Location Quick Facts Capital Daman Government Indian Union Territory Currency Indian rupee (INR).

    Is Goa a state or city?

    Goa, state of India, comprising a mainland district on the country’s southwestern coast and an offshore island. It is located about 250 miles (400 km) south of Mumbai (Bombay).

    Is Chandigarh is a state?

    Chandigarh is a city and a union territory in the northern part of India that serves as the capital of the states of Punjab and Haryana. As a union territory, the city is ruled directly by the Union Government of India and is not part of either state.

    Is India a country or state?

    India, officially the Republic of India (Hindi: Bhārat Gaṇarājya), is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by area, the second-most populous country, and the most populous democracy in the world.

    What is the capital of England?

    London is the capital city of England and the United Kingdom. It is the most populous city in the United Kingdom, with a metropolitan area of over 13 million inhabitants.

    What is the capital of Egypt?

    Cairo is the capital and largest city of Egypt. The city’s metropolitan area is the largest in the Middle East and the Arab world, and 15th-largest in the world, and is associated with ancient Egypt, as the famous Giza pyramid complex and the ancient city of Memphis are located in its geographical area.

    Where is kavaratti?

    The Kavaratti is the capital of the Union Territory Lakshadweep in India. The Island of Kavaratti lies 360Km of the coast of the State of Kerala at 10.57°N 72.64°E. is the closest major city on the Indian mainland at a distance of 404 km (218 nmi).

    Why they are called union territories?

    A union territory is a sort of organisational division in the Indian Republic. It is not like states, we know that states has their own governments, actually union territories are directly ruled by the Central Government. Therefore, it reflects the name “union territory”.

    Why Chandigarh is called union territory?

    Chandigarh was located on the border of both states and the states moved to incorporate the city into their respective territories. However, the city of Chandigarh was declared a union territory to serve as capital of both states. These villages were a part of the pre-Chandigarh era.

    How many cities are in India?

    There are 4,000 cities and towns in India. About 300 cities have population over 1,00,000. Seven cities have population more than 3 million. Greater Mumbai still is the most populated city in its 440 sq.

    How many languages are in India?

    121 languages are spoken by 10,000 or more people Press Trust of India More than 19,500 languages or dialects are spoken in India as mother tongues, according to the latest analysis of a census released this week.

    How many cm are in India?

    Of the thirty incumbents, one is a woman—Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. Serving since 5 March 2000 (for 21 years, 241 days), Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik has the longest incumbency. Zoramthanga (b. 13 July 1944) of Mizoram is the oldest serving Chief Minister, while Arunachal Pradesh’s Pema Khandu (b.

    Is Kanyakumari part of Kerala?

    In the month of July 1949, when the United States of Cochin and Travancore was inaugurated, the present Kanyakumari area continued to form a part of Trivandrum district in Kerala.

    What is capital of Tamil Nadu?


    What is the full form of LOC and Lac?

    While LAC stands for Line of Actual Control, LOC stands for Line of Control.

    How many districts are there in JK?

    districts were created taking the total number of districts in the state to 14. At present, the Kashmir Province comprises the districts of Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Anantnag, Kupwara, Baramulla, Leh and Kargil and the Jammu Province comprises the districts of Jammu, Kathua, Poonch, Rajouri, Udhampur and Doda.

    Why Pakistan is behind Kashmir?

    The conflict started after the partition of India in 1947 as both India and Pakistan claimed the entirety of the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir. It is a dispute over the region that escalated into three wars between India and Pakistan and several other armed skirmishes.